The southernmost portion of Barangay VIII and IX is called Sta. Elena. The hilly portion shared by both Branagay VII and VIII is called Panpantoc, which means “hills” and in the past, it served as the city’s former dumpsite area on its eastern half, and as the City Public Cemetery on its western half.
Another part of Barangay VIII is also called Cabasaan due its being easily flooded during the rains, and because in the past, it is near the rice fields. While Cabasaan keeps its name, the rice fields nearby has been turned into an important business and development area in the last 20 years – starting with the construction of the Vigan Public Market to the more recent Vigan Public Terminal, Vigan Gym, Skills and Training Institute (STI), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) and Stimulation and Therapeutic Activity Center (STAC) – Breaking Barriers for Children (BBC).
simbaan a bassit
The “Simbaan a Bassit”, the Camposanto Chapel in Vigan. The new cemetery was organized in 16 July 1852 by Bp. Vicente Barreiro y Perez, OSA in the Southern outskirts of town. The architecture of the chapel façade is unique with its pediment done in espadaña form. It was made a Shrine of Señor Santo Cristo or Apo Lakay in 9 Nov. 1852. The annual feast of Tres de Mayo in Vigan started in 1882 as an act of thanksgiving to Apo Lakay by the naturals who were twice afflicted and delivered from pest which broke out in 1756 & 1882. The visit of the prodigous image of Apo Santo Cristo from Sinait to Vigan during those times of affliction were alwaysa source of cure and deliverance for the people.
Vigan City Police Station